Fraser Highway widening

//Fraser Highway widening

Fraser Highway widening

The City of Surrey is planning to widen Fraser Highway through the Green Timbers Urban Forest, starting in 2017.

The nine-page Corporate Report from Engineering and Parks to City Council is here:
http://www.surrey.ca/bylawsandcouncillibrary/CR_2015-R085.pdf

Here are a few articles online:

From the CBC: http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/surrey-to-cut-down-hundreds-of-green-timbers-trees-to-make-way-for-lrt-1.3089323

The Surrey Leader: Protecting Paradise: http://www.surreyleader.com/news/306164021.html

The Surrey Now: http://www.thenownewspaper.com/news/unknown-number-of-trees-in-green-timbers-will-fall-to-make-way-for-lrt-in-surrey-1.1957484 (on the home page this article is next to a story about Delta planting 1,500 trees).

The Surrey Now: http://www.thenownewspaper.com/news/our-view-trees-make-news-in-surrey-and-delta-for-a-reason-1.1957494

News1130: http://www.news1130.com/2015/06/04/heritage-group-members-cringe-at-marked-trees-in-green-timbers/

Global TV: http://globalnews.ca/news/2039593/city-of-surrey-to-cut-down-hundreds-of-trees-in-green-timbers-park/

Are you concerned?

Your voice does matter. Call or send an email to your councillors:

Barbara Steele Councillor (604) 591-4623 HBSteele@surrey.ca
Bruce Hayne Councillor (604) 591-4025 BruceHayne@surrey.ca
David Woods Councillor (604) 591-4349 Dave.Woods@surrey.ca
Judy Villeneuve Councillor (604) 591-4625 JAVilleneuve@surrey.ca
Mary Martin Councillor (604) 591-4622 MMartin@surrey.ca
Michael Starchuk Councillor (604) 591-4346 Mike.Starchuk@surrey.ca
Tom Gill Councillor (604) 591-4634 TSGill@surrey.ca
Linda Hepner Mayor (604) 591-4126 mayor@surrey.ca

 

Sign up for the Green Timbers Heritage Society Newsletter to stay informed (at the very bottom of this page).

Contact us at greentimberssociety@gmail.com if you’d like to get involved.

By | 2016-03-27T16:41:53+00:00 June 5th, 2015|News & Events|Comments Off on Fraser Highway widening

About the Author: